Skip to content
October 8, 2011 / To write love on a post it.

Follow your heart…

A few weeks ago Mary and I got together to make a bunch of postitsforlove to carry around with us. We made so many postitsforlove that night I am still working off of the same stack! There is one postit in particular that I was skipping every time I took out a few postits in a parking lot, at school, shopping, or just out and about. Whenever it came to the top of the pile I would put it underneath and post other notes. Earlier this week I only grabbed a small stack of the postits that I keep in my car to take on a walk with me. As I was walking along a paved pathway on the beach I came to this same postit again and moved it to the bottom of the pile. It was not long before there was only one postit left in my hand. “Follow your heart. Trust that you’ll end up right where you belong when you do.”

Why was I holding on to this message? I kept it in my hand as I left the paved walkway and went to the shore. I spent a lot of time wondering why I hadn’t posted this message for someone to stumble upon yet.

I realized why I couldn’t post it. I didn’t think it was fair of me to send this message out into the world when I was questioning this whole ‘follow your heart’ advice. Following your heart is the easy part. The scary thing is trusting that you’ll end up where you belong. Sometimes when you follow your heart, things do not work out the way you want them to. When you are there, in that place, it is hard to believe that you ended up right where you belong. No one wants to believe that they belong in a place where things didn’t work out. 

The beach was the perfect place to look out as far as the eye could see, breathe in deep, and face the fact that even if we do not realize why we belong somewhere at a particular time, there is a reason we ended up there.  Your heart will always lead you right where you belong; sometimes it leads you to a place where you are going to be for a while, a place that does not seem to make sense, a place that does not match the expectations you had when you set out to follow your heart. Even in these moments, where you feel lost and “regret” following your heart, you have to trust that you are where you need to be in that moment. Think of it as a detour, a direction or turn you did not expect to take. It is important to realize that this is not a dead end, it is just a stop along the way to where your heart is meant to lead you.   

I stood where the water hit the sand for a long time. Following my heart lead me there. It turned out a way I never expected, but I realized that my journey is not over. Some things do not work out because they are not supposed to at a specific time. I felt confident that I did not make any wrong decisions following my heart. When I got back on the pavement to leave the beach, I posted the postitforlove and was happy to finally share this message with someone.

Sometimes the answer is simple: follow your heart. The hard part is trusting that even if you end up a place you didn’t expect, you belong there. 

I wanted to share this story with all of you and remind everyone of something. When it comes to matters of the heart – be it who you belong with, what career path you choose, which school you go to, what social circle you associate with, what responsibilities you take on, and so on – you need to remember to make decisions based on what you. Do not let others tell you what decisions to make with your heart. Do not let others opinions, thoughts, or judgments keep you from going for the things that make you happy. While I am not suggesting that you be a selfish person, I am suggesting that you do not ignore what your heart wants because of other people’s influences. So follow your heart, consider the opinions of those who have your best interest at heart, always make the final decisions based on what you want,  trust your choices, trust and appreciate the outcome; and above all else: enjoy the journey!  

Follow your heart: the journey may be long, the path may twist and turn, but you will eventually end up right where you belong…gabriellemercedes<3

Leave a Reply

