Skip to content
June 28, 2011 / To write love on a post it.

Inspired…

So Mary pointed out that it has been WAY too long since any of us have updated you all on our journey. I was inspired to share with you all my most recent postitforlove experience. I took pictures with my phone but they were too blurry ūüė¶

I was in a shopping center near my house to return some things, and I had some time to waste before I needed to move on to my next errand for the day. I grabbed some of the postits¬†that I keep in my car and stuck some on the cars in the lot. After I was done, I was sitting in my car listening to music, getting ready to leave. I noticed a woman with 3 young children walking toward one of the cars that I put a postit¬†on. Even though I had a stack full of¬† premade¬†postits, once I saw this woman’s car I made a specific one…

¬†On the back of her car there was a sticker that said in memory of¬†Chris and indicated that¬† he was a firefighter. The dates showed that he died recently. There was window paint on the car with messages from his kids, that said things like¬† “we miss you daddy,” and “we love you everyday.” When I saw her car, I made a postit note that said “fallen heroes make the best guardian angels,” I drew some wings around a heart, and this is the postit¬†I left for her. I watched her read the postit, take it off the window, and begin to cry. After about a minute she looked up at the sky and smiled.

Seeing her reaction made me cry. My hope  is that this postit was just the sign she needed to know that she is not alone. I could tell that getting the note was a positive experience for her. It is moments like this, that truly illustrate the fact that it takes the simplest deed to show someone that they are not alone. It is also moments like this that make postitsforlove such a rewarding experience.

When we started postitsforlove, we were looking for nothing in return. We just wanted  to bring a smile and some happiness to some random people. But I feel like I get so much in return when I just happen to see someone react to their postit.

The thing is: life is hard. Things happen that don’t make sense. And there are some questions that just don’t have answers. Like why people who dedicate their lives to helping others, who have young kids, who are amazing, are taken from us. I don’t know if anyone agrees with me, but sometimes knowing that they are in a better place doesn’t make us feel any better here on earth. Even knowing we¬† might be with them again one day doesn’t make it hurt any less right now. Along with these unanswered questions, I feel that another thing that doesn’t make any sense, is why some people seem to neglect doing something good just because. I guess sometimes we get so caught up in our own lives, our own daily routine, our own stress, to just set out and do a good deed because we can.

So just as I was inspired to share this story with you, I hope you will be inspired to get out and do something nice for someone today, just because! It truly could bring someone else the happiness they needed at just the right time.

*our lives change because they have to; we grow because we have to; but one thing that will never change is how one small act can warm an entire heart…gabriellemercedes*

Leave a Reply

